Mary, mother of Jesus

Mary, Mother of Jesus

                   In the Holy Qur’an is a surah entitled, “Mary,” which is devoted to Mary, the Mother of
Jesus.

19:16 “And make mention of Mary in the Scripture, when she had withdrawn from her people to a
chamber looking East,”

19:17 “And had chosen seclusion from them. Then We sent unto her Our Spirit and it assumed for
her the likeness of a perfect man.”

19:18 “She said: Lo! I seek refuge in the Beneficent One from thee, if thou art Godfearing.”

19:19 “He said: I am only a messenger of the Lord, that I may bestow on thee a faultless son.”

19:20 “She said: How can I have a son when no mortal hath touched me, neither have I been
unchaste?”

19:21 “He said: So (it will be). Thy Lord saith: It is easy for Me. And (it will be) that We may make of
him a revelation for mankind and a mercy from Us, and it is a thing ordained.”

19:22 “And she conceived him, and she withdrew with him to a far place.”

19:23 “And the pangs of childbirth drove her unto the trunk of the palm tree. She said: Oh, would
that I had died ere this and had become a thing of naught, forgotten!”

19:24 “Then (one) cried unto her from below her, saying: Grieve not! Thy Lord hath placed a rivulet
beneath thee, “

19:25 “And shake the trunk of the palm tree toward thee; thou wilt cause ripe dates to fall upon
thee.”

19:26 “So eat and drink and be consoled.”

The surah of Mary puts these words in the mouth of Jesus:

19:30 “He spake: Lo! I am the slave of Allah. He hath given me the Scripture and appointed me a
Prophet,”

19:31 “And hath made me blessed wheresoever I may be, and hath enjoined upon me prayer and
almsgiving so long as I remain alive,”

19:32 “And (hath made me) dutiful toward her who bore me, and hath not made me arrogant,
unblest.”

19:33 “Peace on me the day I was born, and the day I die, and the day I shall be raised alive.”

19:34 “Such was Jesus, son of Mary, (this is) a statement of the truth concerning which they
doubt.”

Like the Jews, Muslims totally reject the idea that their God has a son. They revere
Jesus as one of the prophets, but not as a son of God, and certainly not as part of a triune God.

19:35 “It befitteth not (the Majesty of) Allah that He should take unto Himself a son.”

19:88 “And they say: The Beneficent hath taken unto Himself a son.”

19:89 “Assuredly ye utter a disastrous thing,”

19:90 “Whereby almost the heavens are torn, and the earth is split asunder and the mountains fall
in ruins,”

19:91 “That ye ascribe unto the Beneficent a son,”

19:92 “When it is not meet for (the Majesty of) the Beneficent that He should choose a son.”

19:93 “There is none in the heavens and the earth but cometh unto the Beneficent as a slave.”

19:94 “Verily He knoweth them and numbereth them with (right) numbering.”

19:95 “And each one of them will come unto Him on the Day of Resurrection, alone.”

Leave a Reply

